The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

There are certain books in your possession that get rough around the edges (especially if you have the paperback version) because you are so into the story that you carry it along wherever you think you might find few minutes to read a little more.

This is one of those books that made me eat my lunch early, stay up a little late at night, flip some more pages when my server got stuck and my ongoing work got interrupted, quitely switch on night light to read a little more while my husband and my son were deep in sleep.

I loved the pace, stories, style of writing, author’s witty imagination and of course the story telling quality!! The essence of the book – the letters – were the most enjoyable and probably will be a memorable aspect till I find some other book in the form of letters to loved ones. I loved the character build-up of Dawsey, how everyone just feels relieved around him. While reading even I started feeling relived when there was a letter to or from Dawsey, or something about him was shared.

I enjoyed this book thoroughly, though I was looking forward for something about Juliet’s completed work or how Sidney thought about the book as a finished product. The ending was happy, but the main cause for which Juliet travelled to Guernsey was lost in a way. Nothing about the finished book!! That could have been added. Other than that, I loved it!! Loved, loved, loved it!!



View all my reviews

Leave a comment